Royal Academy of Music: The Tagus Quartet
Insert shortcode
18:00 to 19:00

The Tagus Quartet is a prize-winning string quartet based in London, whose members hail from France, Portugal and the UK. Formed in 2014, the quartet have established themselves as one of London’s leading young string quartets. Appointed the position of Chamber Music Fellows at the Royal Academy of Music for 2016/17, they will perform several concerts throughout the year at the Academy, and look forward to coaching younger undergraduate groups. During their studentship at the Academy the Tagus Quartet was awarded first prize at the Wolfe Wolfinsohn String Quartet Prize and the Amadeus Prize, and collaborated with the Doric String Quartet to perform Mendelssohn’s Octet in the Duke’s Hall.

The Tagus Quartet has received extensive mentoring from both Christoph Richter and Levon Chilingirian, and masterclass tuition from Hartmut Rohde and András Keller, to whom they performed Bartók’s Second String Quartet at Wigmore Hall. They have also begun to form a busy concert diary around the UK, appearing at Bristol’s Colston Hall, Jack Liebeck’s Kreisler festival and at numerous London venues.

In this evenings concert they will be performing;

Haydn String Quartet in F minor, op.20 no.5
Beethoven String Quartet in E minor, op.59 no.2, ‘Razumovsky’